Tuesday, February 27, 2007

Kevin Cary: Above the Rim blog

Cary's ballot for All-Southern Conference honors
(abbreviated version - click on the link to read all the notes about the choices)

The Southern Conference media will announce its all-conference teams as well as Coach, Player and Freshman of the Year this week. If my ballot is any indication, Davidson - picked to finish fourth in the South Division this season - will get a lot of recognition for its strong season.Here’s my choices, with comments on award winners and first-team selections:

Freshman of the Year: Stephen Curry, Davidson
Coach of the Year: Bob McKillop, Davidson
Player of the Year: Curry

First team all-conference
Curry, Davidson
Hines, UNC-G
D.J. Thompson, Appalachian State
Dontaye Draper, College of Charleston
Jason Richards, Davidson

Second team
Nick Aldridge, Western Carolina; Donte Gennie, Georgia Southern; Thomas Sander, Davidson; Shane Nichols, Wofford; Keddric Mays, Chattanooga.

Third team
Louis Graham, Georgia Southern; Ricky Hickman, UNC Greensboro; Boris Meno, Davidson; Moussa Diagne, Furman; Donte Minter, Appalachian State.

All-freshman team
Curry, Aldridge, Kellen Brand, Appalachian State, Kendall Toney, UNC Greensboro, Will Archambault, Davidson.

- Kevin Cary

No comments: